Transport and safety get top priority ahead of Vodacom Super Hero Sunday

Johannesburg, December 12 – An integrated security and transport plan will be in place for Vodacom Super Hero Sunday at FNB Stadium on January 19.

In confirming its plans yesterday, Stadium Management South Africa, which manages the stadium precinct, announced that a multi-faceted security system would be in place, designed to ensure safety for upwards of 80 000 rugby supporters.

“Our plans are very similar to what was in place for the recent Ed Sheeran concerts,” explained Bertie Grobbelaar, managing director of SMSA. “We had a safety and security and transport and traffic management plan that was efficiently carried out for just over 125 000 people over the two days with very positive feedback from concert attendees and this has informed our plans for this event.”

The public transport plan for Vodacom Super Hero Sunday incorporates various options for match day fans and starts operating at 9am on match day.

1. Self-drive and general parking at no charge.

  • Secure parking at no charge in dedicated parking areas.  All the parking areas will be clearly marked and manned by security staff.
  • Dedicated gas braai areas have also been identified in these parking areas.

2. Park and Ride

  • Park and ride from Menlyn Park, Emperors Palace and Mall of Africa.  Tickets are available from Computicket for R150 return.
  • Buses will travel in dedicated bus lanes moving easily through traffic and collect and drop passengers at the transport hub, 650m from the stadium.

3. Gautrain buses

  • Gautrain service with shuttle buses from Park Station.  Buses will travel in dedicated lanes and drop passengers at the transport hub, 650m from the stadium.

4. Zeelo

  • Dedicated area has been identified for personalised bus service Zeelo.  Tickets available at Computicket –  R200 per adult and R175 per child (under 12) return.

5. E-hailing Service

  • A dedicated and secure drop off and collection point with safe walkway to the stadium

For further information and times please visit their social media pages.

Planning of this event is subject to the provisions of the Safety at Sport and Recreational Event Act and governed by the Event Safety and Security Planning Committee, comprising various role-players, inclusive of SAPS, JMPD, Medical and Emergency service and private security and parking management.

This committee is chaired by a senior SAPS officer appointed by the National Commissioner of Police.

All event related operational plans are scrutinised and approved by this committee with the responsibility to oversee execution on event day.

Interest is already high around the new-year event that sees the DHL Stormers play the Cell C Sharks and the Emirates Lions play the Vodacom Bulls. Matches kick off at 1pm and 3.15pm respectively, ensuring that fans will be home before sunset.

This follows the success of the debut event in Cape Town last year.

“We are planning for a fun family event,” said Grobbelaar. “The normal concerns around parking and security will be taken care of and we anticipate a historic and memorable rugby day.”

Tickets are on sale at Computicket at R60 each or R200 for four.

Blue Bulls Company honours outstanding performances at 2019 awards

The Blue Bulls Company held their 2019 awards ceremony at the vibrant Altitude roof top Bar in Menlyn on Tuesday, 3 December 2019.

The event, which focused on fun and unwinding after another season of hard hitting rugby, was attended by sponsors, stakeholders, management, players and their respective family and friends. World Cup winning flyhalf Handrè Pollard walked away as the BBCo’s Player of the Year with fellow World champion, Duane Vermuelen, claiming the Vodacom Super Rugby Player of the Year award.

The Currie Cup and SuperSport Challenge Player of the Year awards were snapped up by Tim Agaba and Ruan Nortje respectively while Muller Uys and Richard Kriel were awarded the U21 and U19 Player of the Year. The ceremony was also used to name the 2020 Vodacom Super Rugby leadership with Burger Odendaal being named as captain and Trevor Nyakane his deputy.

The Blue Bulls Company would like to congratulate all the award winners while wishing everyone a safe and enjoyable festive season.

U19 Player of the Year: Richard Kriel

U21 Forward of the Year: Hanru Sirgel

U21 Back of the Year: Wian van Niekerk

U21 Player of the Year: Muller Uys

SuperSport Challenge Player of the Year: Ruan Nortje

Currie Cup Player of the Year: Tim Agaba

VSR Forward of the Year: Trevor Nyakane

VSR Back of the Year: Burger Odendaal

VSR Player of the Year: Duane Vermeulen

BBCo Employee of the Year: Collen Khoza

PUMA Forever Faster Award: Cornal Hendricks

ISUZU Award: Lizo Gqoboka

AFGRI Award: Simphiwe Matanzima

BBCo Player of the Year: Handrè Pollard