Swanepoel ‘slots’ in for Vodacom Bulls 

Vodacom Bulls Director of Rugby Jake White continues to test combinations and positions, with Ruan Nortje shifting to blindside flank opening up space for lock Janko Swanepoel to start in the engine room against the Cell C Sharks at Jonsson Kings Park on Saturday, 12 June 2021.

Nortje’s move to the side of the scrum is a result of the injury to Elrigh Louw, while Springbok loose forward Marcell Coetzee takes over the captaincy and no.8 jumper from the injured Duane Vermeulen, with Marco van Staden covering openside flank against their Durban based opposition.

The rest of the starting line-up remains unchanged.

Springbok Nizaam Carr and Junior Springbok Muller Uys have received call ups to take the places of Swanepoel and Van Staden on the bench respectively.

The trip to Durban marks the end of the PRO14 Rainbow Cup SA regular season, with the Vodacom Bulls going into the game in pole position to contest the North vs South final. The Bulls will be looking to go all out in retaining the top spot, as the Pretoria franchise shifts a gear going into a knockout rugby mindset.

“We have approached this match as if it were a semi-final. Nothing less than a win is good enough. The boys need no further motivation and despite a few injuries, come Saturday we will be focused and determined to execute our plan,” said White.

Kick-off is scheduled for 18h15 with the match being televised live on SuperSport Grandstand and Rugby channels.

Vodacom Bulls:

  • David Kriel (Betway Centurion)
  • Madosh Tambwe (Pretoria)
  • Marco Jansen van Vuren (Pretoria)
  • Cornal Hendricks (Northam)
  • Stravino Jacobs (Harlequins)
  • Morné Steyn (Tuine)
  • Ivan van Zyl (Tuine)
  • Marcell Coetzee (ABE Midas Naka Bulle – C)
  • Ruan Nortje (ABE Midas Naka Bulle)
  • Marco van Staden (Pretoria)
  • Janko Swanepoel (Pretoria)
  • Walt Steenkamp (Betway Centurion)
  • Mornay Smith (Betway Centurion)
  • Johan Grobbelaar (Tukkies)
  • Gerhard Steenekamp (ABE Midas Naka Bulle)


  • Schalk Erasmus (Tuine)
  • Jacques van Rooyen (Tuine)
  • Trevor Nyakane (Harlequins)
  • Nizaam Carr (Betway Centurion)
  • Muller Uys (Tukkies)
  • Keagan Johannes (Tukkies)
  • Clinton Swart (Tukkies)
  • Gio Aplon (Betway Centurion)
  • Robert Hunt (Harlequins)
  • Jan Uys (Pretoria)
  • Dawid Kellerman (Pretoria)
  • Richard Kriel (Tuine)

Match officials:

  • Referee: AJ Jacobs
  • AR1: Jaco Peyper
  • AR2: Griffin Colby
  • TMO: Stuart Berry

Die week op Landbouweekliks | Hekwagters van élke hulpbron

Ontgin alle potensiaal volhoubaar en benut elke element optimaal – van mikroklimate en grondsoorte tot water en personeel. Dít is die visie van die Eksteen-familie van Bufland-boerdery naby Mookgophong in Limpopo. Hier woeker hulle onder meer met saadmielies, sitrus, steenvrugte, wild en beeste. Die Eksteens was ook die eerstes wat sitrus in die Waterberge aangeplant het. Hul eie komposaanleg is die hoeksteen van hul biologiese praktyke. Die veeboerdery spog met ’n Bonsmarastoetery en kommersiële kudde, asook ’n klein voerkraal.

Coetzee to start for Vodacom Bulls against the Storm

Springbok loose forward Marcell Coetzee will earn his first cap for the Vodacom Bulls when they host the DHL Stormers in their Pro14 Rainbow Cup SA clash at Loftus Versfeld on Friday, 4 June 2021.

Vodacom Bulls Director of Rugby, Jake White, has tweaked the starting line-up with scrumhalf Ivan van Zyl returning from injury to partner flyhalf Morné Steyn, while wing Stravino Jacobs reclaims the no.11 jersey in place of James Verity-Amm.

Besides the inclusion of Coetzee at openside flank, Mornay Smith and Gerhard Steenekamp will prop up the scrum alongside hooker Johan Grobbelaar.

Springbok utility back Gio Aplon has recovered from his ACL injury and will add experience off the bench, with fellow Springboks in prop Trevor Nyakane and flank Marco van Staden set to do the same.

“We’ve welcomed back Gio and Ivan from injury while Marcell gets his first start for us. It’s great having experience of this calibre coming back into our system as we head into the busines end of the tournament,” said White.

“The loss against the Lions put things into perspective as we cannot afford even one slip up in terms of the log. We need to make amends for it and there’s not many things tougher than a classic North-South derby,” he added.

Kick-off is scheduled for 19h00 CAT with the match being televised live on SuperSport Grandstand and Rugby channels.

Vodacom Bulls:
15. David Kriel (Betway Centurion)
14. Madosh Tambwe (Pretoria)
13. Marco Jansen van Vuren (Pretoria)
12. Cornal Hendricks (Northam)
11. Stravino Jacobs (Harlequins)
10. Morné Steyn (Tuine)
9. Ivan van Zyl (Tuine)
8. Duane Vermeulen (Harlequins, C)
7. Elrigh Louw (Tukkies)
6. Marcell Coetzee (ABE Midas Naka Bulle)
5. Ruan Nortje (ABE Midas Naka Bulle)
4. Walt Steenkamp (Betway Centurion)
3. Mornay Smith (Betway Centurion)
2. Johan Grobbelaar (Tukkies)
1. Gerhard Steenekamp (ABE Midas Naka Bulle)


  1. Schalk Erasmus (Tuine)
  2. Jacques van Rooyen (Tuine)
  3. Trevor Nyakane (Harlequins)
  4. Janko Swanepoel (Pretoria)
  5. Marco van Staden (Pretoria)
  6. Zak Burger (Tuine)
  7. Chris Smith (Harlequins)
  8. Gio Aplon (Betway Centurion)
  9. Jan-Hendrik Wessels (Pretoria)
  10. Muller Uys (Tukkies)
  11. Jan Uys (Pretoria)
  12. James Verity-Amm (Pretoria)
  13. Keagan Johannes (Tukkies)

Match officials:

Referee: Jaco Peyper

AR1: AJ Jacobs

AR2: Aimee Barrett-Theron

TMO: Marius van der Westhuizen