CARLING CURRIE CUP: Exciting Vodacom Bulls team for Sigma Lions clash

Bismarck du Plessis will make a return to play with a starting berth for the Vodacom Bulls when they take on the Sigma Lions in a Carling Currie Cup clash at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday. The veteran hooker will form part of an exciting front row after completing a three-week suspension.

The 37-year-old will be lining up alongside Lizo Gqoboka, who will also captain the team, at loosehead prop and Dylan Smith, who gets his first start in the blue jersey, at tighthead prop.

Juan Mostert will earn his first start for the Vodacom Bulls, earning a spot at flyhalf in the exciting backline which will also see Kabelo Mokoena, who was part of the successful UP Tuks team that recently claimed the Varsity Cup title.

The Vodacom Bulls expect a tough challenge from a Sigma Lions side that will be motivated against one of their oldest rivals at Loftus Versfeld.

“We are looking forward to a hard game against the Sigma Lions this week. We have also an exciting team, led by Lizo, that we have assembled for this match. We have a good mix of experience with Bismarck also back in the mix and the likes of Stedman Gans and Marco Jansen van Vuren in the backline,” said Vodacom Bulls head coach, Gert Smal.

“There is a lot of history and a rivalry that spans for decades between these two teams. Every time the Vodacom Bulls meet the Sigma Lions it is expected to be a game full of spark. They (Sigma Lions) will undoubtedly throw everything at us and will bring the competitiveness we have known between these two sides over the past 84 years.”

The match will kick off at 17h00 and it will be televised on SuperSport.

Tickets for the match are available on or at the Loftus Versfeld ticket office from R25. Children under the age of 18 get free entry, with free entry tickets available at the gate.

There will be plenty of entertainment with a kids entertainment area, a beer garden for adults and there will be live entertainment pre-match from Martin Bester and Band.

 The Vodacom Bulls team to face the Sigma Lions is:

STARTERS (15-1): James Verity-Amm (Pretoria), David Kriel (Betway Centurion), Stedman Gans (Northam Rhinos), Marco Jansen van Vuren (Pretoria), Kabelo Mokoena (UP Tuks), Juan Mostert (Harlequin), Keagan Johannes (UP Tuks); Muller Uys (UP Tuks), Reinhardt Ludwig (UP Tuks), Jaco Labuschagne (Pretoria), Janko Swanepoel (Pretoria), Raynard Roets (UP Tuks), Dylan Smith (Tuine), Bismarck du Plessis (Betway Centurion), Lizo Gqoboka (ABE Midas Naka Bulle, CAPT)

IMPACT (16-23): Sidney Tobias (Northam Rhinos), Cebo Dlamini (Harlequin), Francois Kloppers (UP Tuks), Ruan Delport (Betway Centurion), Stephan Smith (UP Tuks); Bernard van der Linde (UP Tuks), Diego Appollis (ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Richard Kriel (Tuine).