Pollard to lead Vodacom Bulls in Buenos Aires, Libbok to start

Handre Pollard will lead the Vodacom Bulls in Buenos Aires when they take on the Jaguares in their crucial Vodacom Super Rugby clash at Estadio Jose Amalfitani.


Pollard takes over the captaincy from Burger Odendaal, one of three players out injured from the team that beat the Cell C Sharks in Pretoria last weekend and will slot in at inside centre. This will hand a starting debut to Manie Libbok at flyhalf.


Libbok made six appearances off the bench for the Vodacom Bulls already.


Injured lock, Lood de Jager, will be replaced by Jason Jenkins who will partner RG Snyman for the first time this year.


The flanker berth vacated by Jenkins will be filled by Thembelani Bholi, with Handre Stassen taking over the impact role Bholi had against the Cell C Sharks.

Vodacom Bulls coach, John Mitchell named Trevor Nyakane as loose head in place of the injured Lizo Gqoboka, with Conrad van Vuuren moving into the no three jersey.


Former Junior Springbok, JT Jackson, has been named on the bench and will make his Vodacom Bulls and Vodacom Super Rugby debut if he takes to the field.


“This is a nice challenge for us. We have belief in what we do and where we want to go and that will motivate us on Saturday. The injuries are part of rugby and we need to adapt to play without those three players. Rugby is a team effort anyway and this gives the likes of Manie, JT and Hendre a nice opportunity to express themselves.”


The team (with Vodacom Super Rugby caps and points) is: Warrick Gelant (29, 55), Travis Ismaiel (36, 50), Jesse Kriel (56, 55), Handre Pollard (c; 42, 379), Johnny Kotze (30, 30), Manie Libbok (6, 2), Ivan van Zyl (13, 0), Marco van Staden (11, 5), Thembelani Bholi (25, 5), Roelof Smit (23, 10), RG Snyman (34, 10), Jason Jenkins (37, 35), Conraad van Vuuren (12, 0), Adriaan Strauus (154, 95), Trevor Nyakane (89, 15). Replacements: Jaco Visagie (31, 5), Mox Mxoli (4, 0), Frans van Wyk (11, 0), Hendre Stassen (2, 0), Nic de Jager (24, 15), Andre Warner (10, 10), JT Jackson (0, 0), Divan Rossouw (9, 15).