Vodacom Bulls geared up for exciting Edinburgh encounter

The Vodacom Bulls have kept consistency in their backline while making a handful of changes in the forwards pack ahead of their Vodacom United Rugby Championship Round 4 clash against Edinburgh Rugby on Saturday.

The side will see Chris Smith earning a starting berth at flyhalf as the only change to the backline that faced Cardiff Rugby a week ago.

The forwards will see the return of Lizo Gqoboka and Mornay Smith as the starting props, while a new loose trio will see captain Marcell Coetzee playing alongside Arno Botha at blindside flanker and Muller Uys at No8.

Experienced Springbok flyhalf, Morne Steyn, will provide cover from the bench.

Vodacom Bulls director of rugby, Jake White, said: “It’s been quite an experience for our squad in these past four weeks in the UK, adapting to the Vodacom United Rugby Championship – new opposition and unfamiliar conditions.

“Edinburgh is a top side that is well-coached, with a number of international players. We expect another challenging encounter against a competitive opposition. We look forward to ending off this tour on a high note.”

The match kicks off at 18h15 SA time, and it will be televised on SuperSport.

The Vodacom Bulls team is (15-9; 1-8):

David Kriel (Betway Centurion), Madosh Tambwe (Pretoria), Cornal Hendricks (Northam), Harold Vorster (Northam), Kurt-Lee Arendse (Betway Centurion), Chris Smith (Harlequins), Embrose Papier (FNB Tuks); Lizo Gqoboka (ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Bismarck du Plessis (Betway Centurion), Mornay Smith (Betway Centurion), Janko Swanepoel (Pretoria), Ruan Nortje (ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Marcell Coetzee (CAPT, ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Arno Botha (ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Muller Uys (FNB Tuks)

Replacements: Schalk Erasmus (Tuine), Simphiwe Matanzima (ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Robert Hunt (Harlequins), Walt Steenkamp (Betway Centurion), Elrigh Louw (FNB Tuks) Marco Jansen van Vuren (Pretoria), Morne Steyn (Tuine), Lionel Mapoe (Pretoria)